Exciting Inland Racing at Red Star

The Formula Monoposto series set the tone for the days racing with an exciting first heat producing some interesting results. Cameron O’Connor (Formula Ford Zetec) and Karl Pitzer (Formula Ford Zetec) locked out the front row in their new generation wings and slicks Formula Ford machines. Pitzer grabbed the lead at the start with O’Connor and Sean Harrington (Formula GTI) in tow. John Maurien (Ray GTI) and new kid on the block Siyabonga Mankonkwana (Formula Vee) weren’t too far behind the leading trio with Louis van der Merwe (Formula GTI) scything his way from the back of the grid as well.

O’Connor took the lead on the second lap and never looked back. Van der Merwe grabbed third position on lap five as the best of the older generation cars. O’Connor held on for the win ahead of Pitzer to take the Overall and class C honours. Pitzer took class E with van der Merwe taking class A. Michael Kernick (Formula Ford) won class D with Duncan Bosch taking the Formula M class win.

The second race picked up where the first left off with Pitzer again taking the lead ahead of O’Connor and the rest of the pack. O’Connor made short work of getting to the front however and went on to take a convincing Overall and class C win ahead of the Mozambique teenager. Pitzer took the double in class E with van der Merwe doing the same in class A. Mac Odendaal (Formula GTI) took the honours in class D with Bosch taking the double in the Formula M class.

The Midvaal Historics category once again saw the oldest cars in the tour creating some really close and competitive racing. Poleman Seef Fourie’s (Datsun 160Y) race was over before it had begun when a broken distributor put paid to his chances. Defending champion Jacques Mostert (Datsun GX Coupe) was also missing from the grid. Series newcomer Andre de Lange (VW Jetta MK 1) grabbed the lead ahead of Brendan Parker (Datsun GX Coupe) and Rene Janse van Rensburg (Ford Escort MK2). Shawn Smidt (Datsun 160Y) slotted into fourth ahead of Deon van Vuuren (Ford Escort) and Johan Coetzer Snr (Datsun GX Coupe). Race leader de Lange slowed with a misfire on the second lap and dropped back to fifth. As quick as the misfire had appeared it disappeared again two laps later with a rejuvenated de Lange making his way back through the field. He regained the lead with two laps to go and went on to take the Overall and class D victory. Second placed Janse van Rensburg took the class E honours with fifth placed Ken Price (Datsun GX Coupe) taking class F. Tenth placed Anton Vos (Datsun GX Coupe) took the class G win while Brian Fraser (Ford Anglia) took class H. Johan Roets (Datsun SSS) took class X.

The second race saw de Lange grab the lead once again with Janse van Rensburg and van Vuuren in tow. Parker was scything his way through the field from the back of the twenty car field after a broken clutch slave cylinder ended his first race. He grabbed fourth place by the end of the second lap! De Lange’s ghosts came back to haunt him when the misfire returned to end his race a lap later. Parker took the lead with two laps to go and held on for a comfortable Overall and class E victory ahead of Janse van Rensburg and van Vuuren. Fourth placed Frank Davis (Ford Escort MK1) took the class F win while ninth placed Johan Swanepoel (Fiat 124 Sport) took the class G honours. Fraser and Roets took the double in classes H and X respectively.

The Bridgestone BMW Car Club series once again put on one of the best shows of the day with two action packed races being a real highlight. Lorenzo Gaultieri (E36 328i Turbo) announced his return to the fray by grabbing pole position in his first class A race. It was Desmond Bloem (E36 M3 Turbo) and Dino Fameliaris (E36 M3 Turbo) who got the jump on the youngster at the start however. Defending champion Julian Fameliaris (E36 328i Turbo) slotted into fourth with Paulo Loureiro (E36 M3 GTS) and Jorge Estrela (E36 328i Turbo) making a welcome return with top six positions as well. Both Dino and Gaultieri got past Bloem before the end of the first lap with Gaultieri taking the lead by the end of the first lap as well. This was short lived however as Gaultieri ran off the circuit with brake fade, dropping him back to fourth position in the process. Estrela slowed on the same lap when boost problems on his car ended his race prematurely. Dino had all but checked out at the front and had opened up a massive gap over Bloem and Julian. Dino held on to take a comfortable Overall and class A win with Julian and Gaultieri being credited with second and third respectively after Bloem was slapped with a 30 second jump start penalty. Fifth placed Loureiro took the class B victory with Philip Smit (E46 M3) and Shane Grobler (E36 328i) taking convincing wins in classes C and D respectively.

The traditional inverted grid by class for the second race would once again make for an exciting race as always. Manny Ribeiro (E46 M3 GTR) took the lead ahead of Julian and Mish-al Sing (E30 325is). Julian had grabbed the lead by the end of the first lap with Gaultieri and Bloem slotting into second and third respectively. Gaultieri grabbed the lead on the second lap with Ribeiro blowing his chances with a spin. Bloem took second place on the next lap with Dino relegating his cousin to fourth. Gaultieri held on to take his maiden Overall and class A win ahead of Bloem and Dino. Loureiro took the double in class B with Willie Erasmus (E36 M3) coming back from a jump start in the first race to take the win in class C. Jan Eversteyn (E36 328i) got the better of Grobler to take the class D win.

Lonika Maartens (Chev Lumina) rewrote the history books when she became the first female to win a Big Boss Auto Super Saloons GTA class race at the tender age of 17 – setting a new lap record of 1:55.852 in the process. She repeated the feat in the second race to take the double on the day. Amos Cockerham Junior (Jaguar) and Benjamin Morgenrood Junior (Ford Mustang) shared second place in both heats. JP Nortje (Tigra Spaceframe) took the double in GT2 while Richard Cooley (Mazda RX8) did the same in GT3. In a day of doubles Karel Stols (Mazda RX7) took both heats in GT4 while Dawie Fourie (Tata Indica Spaceframe) took the honours in both heats for GT5.

The Yokohama MPC and Silvercup event produced two close races as well. Jeff Langeveldt (Honda CRX) made a triumphant return by winning both heats and taking the class A victory in the process. Paul Saayman (Golf 1) and Keagan Pottas (Honda CRX) shared the class T honours while Wayne Crous (Golf 1) and Wayne Lebotschy (Golf 1) shared the class B laurels. Morne Fullard (Golf 2) took both class C wins.
The Silvercup honours went to Evert Seyffert (Chev Can Am) and Daniel Luwes (Honda Ballade) respectively.

As usual the Inex Legends Championship had three close races with action all the way. The first heat saw Anro Stadler (Pro) take the win ahead of Willie Erasmus (Pro) and Charl Roux (Master). The second race saw Stadler repeat the feat with Richard Upton (Pro) and Roux finishing in second and third. The third and final heat saw Stadler take the triple crown with Upton taking yet another second place, this time ahead of Jordan Larsson (Semi Pro).